7 Chicago Film Critics award nominations for 'Clayton'

Published: 12/11/2007 12:18 AM

"Michael Clayton," Tony Gilroy's taut ethics drama about an attorney on the brink of a personal and professional meltdown, leads the Chicago Film Critics Association's nominees for 2007.

The drama netted seven nominations, including Best Picture, Actor (George Clooney), Director and Supporting Actress (Tilda Swinton).

Paul Thomas Anderson's epic oil tale "There Will Be Blood" came second with a close six nominations, among them Best Picture, Director and Actor (Daniel Day Lewis).

The Coen brothers' crime thriller "No Country For Old Men" garnered five nominations, including Best Picture, Best Director and Supporting Actor (Javier Bardem). The romantic musical "Once" and the quirky comedy "Juno" tied with four nominations.

The nominations for the 2007 Chicago Film Critics Awards were announced Monday. The CFCA has 60 members from various news media outlets, including print, online and broadcast.

Winners of the 2007 Chicago Film Critics Awards will be announced Friday by entertainment reporter and critic Dean Richards during the morning newscast on WGN-TV Channel 9.

The complete list of 2007 CFCA nominees:

Best Picture: "Into The Wild, "Michael Clayton," "No Country For Old Men," "Once" and "There Will Be Blood."

Foreign Language Film: "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days," "Black Book," "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," "La Vie En Rose," "Lust, Caution" and "The Orphanage." (There are six nominees because of a tie.)

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson for "There Will Be Blood," Joel and Ethan Coen for "No Country For Old Men," David Fincher for "Zodiac," Tony Gilroy for "Michael Clayton" and Jason Reitman for "Juno."

Original Screenplay: "Ratatouille" (Brad Bird), "Juno" (Diablo Cody), "Michael Clayton" (Tony Gilroy), "The Savages" (Tamara Jenkins) and "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead" (Kelly Masterson).

Adapted Screenplay: "There Will Be Blood" (Paul Thomas Anderson), "No Country for Old Men" (Joel and Ethan Coen), "Atonement"( Christopher Hampton), "Into the Wild" (Sean Penn), and "Zodiac" (James Vanderbilt).

Actor: George Clooney for "Michael Clayton," Ryan Gosling for "Lars and the Real Girl," Frank Langella for "Starting Out In The Evening," Daniel Day Lewis for "There Will Be Blood" and Viggo Mortensen for "Eastern Promises."

Actress: Julie Christie for "Away From Her," Marion Cotillard for "La Vie En Rose," Angelina Jolie for "A Mighty Heart," Laura Linney for "The Savages" and Ellen Page for "Juno."

Supporting Actor: Casey Affleck for "The Assassination Of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford," Javier Bardem for "No Country for Old Men," Philip Seymour Hoffman for "Charlie Wilson's War," Hal Holbrook for "Into the Wild" and Tom Wilkinson for "Michael Clayton."

Supporting Actress: Cate Blanchett for "I'm Not There," Jennifer Jason Leigh for "Margot at the Wedding," Leslie Mann for "Knocked Up," Amy Ryan for "Gone Baby Gone" and Tilda Swinton for "Michael Clayton."

Original Score: "The Assassination Of Jesse James By the Coward Robert Ford" (Nick Cave and Warren Ellis), "Atonement" (Dario Marianelli), "Lust, Caution" (Alexandre Desplat), "Once" (Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova), and "There Will Be Blood" (Jonny Greenwood).

Cinematography: "The Assassination Of Jesse James By the Coward Robert Ford" (Roger Deakins), "Atonement" (Seamus McGarvey), "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" (Janusz Kaminski), "No Country For Old Men" (Roger Deakins) and "There Will Be Blood" (Robert Elswit).

Documentary: "Darfur Now," "The King of Kong," "Lake of Fire," "No End In Sight" and "Sicko."

Animated Feature: "Beowulf," "Meet the Robinsons," "Persepolis," "Ratatouille" and "The Simpsons Movie."

Most Promising Performer: Nikki Blonsky for "Hairspray," Michael Cera for "Juno" and "Superbad," Glen Hansard for "Once," Carice Van Houten for "Black Book" and Tang Wei for "Lust, Caution."

Most Promising Director: Ben Affleck for "Gone Baby Gone," John Carney for "Once," Craig Gillespie for "Lars and the Real Girl," Tony Gilroy for "Michael Clayton" and Sarah Polley for "Away From Her."