Jobs Homes Autos For Sale

'No Country' earns critics' top honors
By Dann Gire | Daily Herald Staff

Javier Bardem won a Best Supporting Actor Award from the Chicago Film Critics for his work in "No Country for Old Men."


 1 of 1 
print story
email story
Published: 12/14/2007 12:29 AM

Send To:





"No Country for Old Men," Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's novel, won big Thursday when the 2007 Chicago Film Critics Awards were announced on WGN-TV during "The Morning Show."

In a year with no clear front-runners, "No Country" earned four awards, including Best Picture, Director, Supporting Actor (Javier Bardem) and Adapted Screenplay.

The only other film to win multiple prizes was Jason Reitman's "Juno," which came away with three awards, including Best Actress for young star Ellen Page and Original Screenplay. The dramatic comedy opens today at four Chicago area theaters.

Daniel Day-Lewis won Best Actor laurels for his role as an ambitious, utterly ruthless oil baron in Paul Thomas Anderson's adaptation of Upton Sinclair's "Oil" titled "There Will Be Blood." It opens Jan. 4 in Chicago.

Cate Blanchett won a hotly contested Best Supporting Actress race for her portrayal of music icon Bob Dylan in Todd Haynes' "I'm Not There."

Actor Ben Affleck moved behind the camera this year and was awarded the Most Promising Filmmaker prize for his directorial debut, "Gone Baby Gone."

"4 months, 3 weeks and 2 days," the harrowing drama about a young woman who helps her friend obtain an illegal abortion in 1980s-era Romania, was given the prize for Best Foreign-Language Film.

"Sicko," Michael Moore's alternately hilarious and angry dissection of the failures of the American health-care system, received the award for Best Documentary.

Here's the complete list of winners. You can also read about them on

Best Picture: "No Country for Old Men"

Foreign-Language Film: "4 months, 3 weeks and 2 days"

Director: Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for "No Country for Old Men"

Original Screenplay: Diablo Cody for "Juno"

Adapted Screenplay: Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for "No Country for Old Men"

Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis for "There Will Be Blood"

Actress: Ellen Page for "Juno"

Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem for "No Country for Old Men"

Supporting Actress: Cate Blanchett for "I'm Not There"

Original Score: Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova for "Once"

Cinematography: Roger Deakins for "The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford"

Best Documentary: "Sicko"

Best Animated Feature: "Ratatouille"

Most Promising Performer: Michael Cera for "Juno" and "Superbad"

Most Promising Filmmaker -- Ben Affleck