Jobs Homes Autos For Sale

Lake County girls all-star rosters released
Daily Herald report

Barrington's Nicole Collins, here taking a shot while being guarded by Conant's Katie Lomas, has earned a spot with the West all-stars in the Lake County Senior Shootout.


JOE LEWNARD | Staff Photographer

 1 of 1 
print story
email story
Published: 3/11/2012 12:07 AM

Send To:





The names of the girls basketball players who have been selected to participate in the third annual Lake County Senior Shootout have been released.

The high school all-star basketball game will take place at 6 p.m. Friday, April 13 at the College of Lake County in Grayslake.

"We are very pleased with the players we have selected for this game," coordinator Fred Fleming said. "Our staff has worked really hard on selecting these players to participate in this year's game and I must say we are really excited about our selections."

Paul Brettner, coach of Class 3A state runner-up Vernon Hills, will coach the East team. John Stanczykiewicz, who directed Warren to 21 wins and a regional championship this season, will coach the West squad.

"Both coaches did on outstanding job with their programs this year," Fleming said.

The event is sponsored by the American Heart Association/Hoops For Hearts. Portions of the proceeds will be donated to the American Heart Association.

"We want to raise awareness of the disease hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (the No. 1 cause of death to young athletes) by informing the parents/students and school officials, on how serious this disease is and how important it is for student/athletes to get tested," Fleming said.

"We are asking all schools in Lake County to participate in our online fundraiser, as well," Fleming said.

To see how your prospective schools can get involved and donate to the American Heart Association, please go to

Selections for the East team are: Octavia Crump (Zion-Benton), Katie Batman (Stevenson), Julia Dabrowski (Stevenson), Abby Springer (Vernon Hills), Julie Pecht (Vernon Hills), Diana Enriquez (Wauconda), Skyler Jessop (Grayslake Central), Claire Brennan (Grayslake Central), Elizabeth Yucknut (Deerfield), Emily Cho (Buffalo Grove), Morgan Bartelstein (Highland Park), Amanda Davis (Mundelein), Lindsey Gofron (Antioch).

Selections for the West team are: Jessica Prince (Warren), Amanda Barger (Warren), Lexi Leneau (Warren), Adrianna Pitts (Round Lake), Alex Haley (Libertyville), Nicole Kruckman (Libertyville), Sarah McHugh (Carmel), Ashlee Cunningham (Lakes), Morgan Jahnke (Grant), Nicole Collins (Barrington), Stephanie Schmid (Lake Zurich), Dori Darras (Lake Zurich), Cathryne Spear (Lake Zurich)