Jobs Homes Autos For Sale

No more raining candy from Naperville parades
By Melissa Jenco | Daily Herald Staff
print story
email story
Published: 2/4/2010 9:38 AM

Send To:





Naperville city councilmen have approved a ban on throwing candy and other items from parade floats that they hope will be a Lifesaver, although a few remain sour to the idea.

Parade participants will still be allowed to hand candy to spectators while walking along the route.

Councilmen in favor of the new policy said it is a matter of safety. People watching parades sometimes get pelted by flying objects and children run into the street in front of parade vehicles to collect the goods.

"One child gets hit, it's one child too many and I think the safety is number one in this program," Mayor George Pradel said.

Councilmen regaled the audience with tales of people being hit or nearly hit. Councilman Kenn Miller has been struck by a flying plastic disc and another item sailing through the air struck Assistant City Manager Bob Marshall's wife just above her eye.

Not all councilmen think the new policy is a sweet deal, though.

Councilman Richard Furstenau said the council looks like "a bunch of killjoys" and that attendance at parades will drop because of the regulations.

Councilman Doug Krause agreed and said there have not been any incidents of kids getting hit by parade vehicles in Naperville in the past decade. He would rather see lines drawn along the route that children are not allowed to cross.

"This is a kid-friendly town. This is not a kid-friendly idea," Krause said of the throwing prohibition.

But Councilman Grant Wehrli said not allowing items to be flung into the crowd from the floats is just a matter of common sense.

The city will let parade organizers enforce the policy as they see fit. If participants continue to ignore it, councilmen may bring the matter back and institute a fine or ban scofflaws from participating in future parades.

The council voted 5-3 in favor of the new regulations. Pradel, Wehrli, Miller, Judy Brodhead and Paul Hinterlong voted in favor while Krause, Furstenau and Robert Fieseler voted against it. Jim Boyajian was absent.