Jobs Homes Autos For Sale

Lake County in 60 seconds
Daily Herald Staff Reports
print story
email story
Published: 5/18/2009 12:11 AM

Send To:





Route 45 information meeting

The Illinois Department of Transportation will host an open house regarding the proposed improvement of Route 45 from 4 to 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 19 at the Vernon Hills Park District's Sullivan Center, 635 N. Aspen Drive, Vernon Hills. The proposal is to rebuild Route 45 to provide additional lanes separated by a median from Route 60 to Route 22. The project also includes drainage improvements, modernizing traffic signals and providing additional turn lanes at various intersections. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the need for the work, present proposed plans and obtain public input. An audiovisual presentation will be shown every half-hour. Exhibits will be on display and IDOT staff will answer questions.

Hepatitis health fair

A free hepatitis health fair is set for 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday, May 19 in the lobby of the County Building of Lake County, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan. Information will be available about hepatitis screenings, hepatitis A/B vaccinations, transmission and risk of infection, prevention and treatment. General information also will be available on liver health and wellness as well as free blood pressure screenings. Call the Lake County Health Department, (847) 377-8450, for more information.

Vanderpoel Citizen of Year

The Barrington Area Development Council has named local volunteer and environmentalist Tom Vanderpoel of Fox River Grove as its 2009 Citizen of the Year. A member of Citizens for Conservation, Vanderpoel was recognized for his pivotal role in the restoration of 10 preserves encompassing a total 355 acres in the Barrington area. Vanderpoel cited the influence of his late parents, Ruth and Waid Vanderpoel, who themselves played leading roles in the formation and development of Citizens for Conservation. "I know that they both would be proud of this moment," Vanderpoel said. His father, Waid, received the same Citizen of the Year Award in 1993.